Saturday, September 10, 2005

Attacktix Special Powers Breakdown

New Specials Added: I will remove speculation notes once the real figures/rules are released.

NEW Capture
- You gain control of attacking figure for remainder of game if you have (Figure) in play. *Speculation - It seems you would gain control immediately, so if your figure with Capture is killed on your opponent's first attack, he could be killed before you ever get to control him.

NEW Force Push - Move an opponent's (Figure) four tix. It cannot leave the play area. *Speculation - Hasbro had to do a lot of clarifying for their rules in the first Series. So specifying the "cannot leave play area" is a very good call. Because I would love to force push opponent's off the table!

NEW Battle Cry - You may make an additional attack next turn. *Speculation - The matrix did not list a Figure to activate the Special Power. So either is it automatic, or not yet completed. But it looks like you can tack on another attack. So with an R2, you have the chance of getting FIVE attacks. Wow!

NEW Rescue - Return this figure to the starting area if you have another (Figure) in play. *Speculation - Sounds like a Recover power, but NOT in the same position. Remember to GRIND your figure before you stand him back up.


Attackback
- Free move and attack for (Figure). Pick any figure on your team and move them up to maximum speed and make an attack. If you fire a missile, do not reload until the beginning of your next turn. See Example - Right-Click image and select Play to step through the tutorial.

Rally - Return another one of your defeated (Figure) into play. This can not be used to bring the same figure back to life, even if he meets the requirements. If no figures have been defeated, this can not be saved for later, nor can it be used for your backup figures. Grind this figure and place them two Tix from the starting edge of the table. See Example - Right-Click image and select Play to step through the tutorial.

Recover - Stand up your figure if you have (Figure) in play. Stand the figure up from where he has fallen/landed, not from where he WAS standing. If the figure fell from the table, place him two Tix from the edge from which he fell. GRIND this figure before standing back up. See Example - Right-Click image and select Play to step through the tutorial.

Recruit - Put (Figure) in play from your backups. This is a figure you did not start your game with, but you have available to bring into play. Grind this figure and place them two Tix from the starting edge of the table. See Example - Right-Click image and select Play to step through the tutorial.

Sacrifice - Replace one of your (Figure) with this figure. Choose another figure to place in your defeated pile. Put this figure in the same spot that the Sacrificed figure was previously standing.
See Example - Right-Click image and select Play to step through the tutorial.

Shootback - Free attack for one of your (Figure) launcher. There is no free movement for this figure. After you have fired, do not reload until the beginning of your next turn.
See Example - Right-Click image and select Play to step through the tutorial.

Vengeance - Remove one of your opponent's (Figure) if you have another figure in play. If the last member of your team dies, and this Special Power is active you can NOT use this ability. This eliminates the possibility of a draw due to a Special Power. Also, when using Vengeance, the defeated player's Special Power is NOT eligble, he is simply placed in the defeated area. See Example - Right-Click image and select Play to step through the tutorial.

None - The Emperor is the only figure without any Special Power, in Series 1. The Emperor's team does gain the effect of any Special Power from a figure he is Possessing. If the Possessed figure dies with while his Special Power is White, the Emperor gets to use that power.

For all Special Power examples, please Right-Click on the image and select Play to see the animation. You may need to select Play more than once to see the whole tutorial.

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

Why can't figures who have 'shotback' reload at the begining of their next turn? What if that figure is the only one left on your team?

JoeAttacktix said...

"After you have fired, do not reload until the beginning of your next turn"

If you are using your Shootback feature, that means that one of YOUR units has died, so it is not your turn. Because you have fired your shot, you do NOT get to reload until it is YOUR turn.

So what you ask, is contrary to what the rules say. You CAN reload at the beginning of your next turn. I only mention not to reload because the absence of a missile can change the wieght/balance for that player (incase your opponent has one more attack left).

Anonymous said...

Your right. I actually read the description wrong and knew that all along. My bad.